Finalised Gallardo Tutorial


Just wanted to show the finalised Gallardo after Dan Lavoie’s wonderful tutorial. It is a larger build than his Audi, but also more rewarding. Not without issues, though. I did most of the body part, approximately one third of the whole tutorial, before coming to a dead end where none of the prescribed commands worked. Something was not right in my otherwise beautiful looking part. Eventually I started from scratch again, and this time completed the tutorial without issues. The only thing missing was instructions for modelling the Lamborghini logo on the rear of the car, but I did that on my own; it was a breeze having been tutored by Dan.

The model is also a good test of your PC hardware. At around step 230, with the introduction of meshes, the model started to become seriously demanding to handle for my Q9400@3.2GHz . I first added 2 GB extra RAM (Windows 7, 64 bit), which had absolutely no effect. I then reduced the “Image Quality” sliders found in “Options -> Document Properties” to mid position, and this made the model much more responsive, but it does take no less than two and a half minutes to open from scratch.

Leave a comment

  • Blog Stats

    • 42,113 hits